Fraternity History

Beta Upsilon Chi was formed at The University of Texas at Austin in the spring of 1985 by a handful of Christian men who desired an alternative to the present fraternal lifestyle. A group of Christian men met and planned the “BYX Island Party” to formally announce the fraternity’s founding. It was the vision of the founding fathers to have a fraternity of committed Christian men, based on the unique brotherhood that a Christian atmosphere affords, for the purpose of fellowship and glorification of Jesus Christ. Through such events as parties, service projects, and evangelical outreaches, the charter members of Beta Upsilon Chi chose to unite in fellowship and glorify Jesus Christ on the University of Texas campus.

Chapter History

In the fall of 2003, God laid the vision to bring Brothers Under Christ to the University of Arkansas on the hearts of a few separate men. They saw the need for a brotherhood that would encourage God-honoring friendships and provide accountability for college men. Surprisingly, these men did not know they shared a similar interest until they contacted the national office and found out about one another. They began meeting regularly to discuss the God-given desires they had to start this new chapter.

They found other men at the U of A seeking a strong Christian brotherhood, and by the spring of 2004 the potential chapter was in full swing. On March 24th, 2004 they were recognized by BYX Nationals as the fourteenth chapter of Beta Upsilon Chi. A few days later, the 26 founding fathers threw the BYX Back to School Bash to announce and celebrate their new chapter. The founding fathers desired to see God’s name glorified and men grow closer to Christ through the new brotherhood that the Lord used them to establish.

Founding Fathers

Blake Area, Andrew Bailey, Andrew Finnegan, Brent Harbough, Dutin Talley, Matt Burton, Conner Cooper, Chris Danforth, Thomas Duke, Daniel Godfrey, Brad Godwin, David Haley, Chris Holland, John Kaufman, Matt Kobs, Matt Leis, Matt Perry, Ryan Miller, Neal Reynerson, Kevin Rhine, Daniel Ruck, Patrick Smith, Eric Sullivan, Brett Wagner, Leighton Wood, Scott Zarse

© 2023 Beta Upsilon Chi, inc. | Official website of Beta Upsilon Chi - University of Arkansas